Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About The National Water Awards

Focus: Facts for Prelims

Why in News?

The Vice President of India will confer upon the fourth National Water Awards in New Delhi on 17th June 2023.

National Water Awards:

Nodal: The Ministry of Jal Shakti is responsible for overseeing the National Water Awards.

  • The National Water Awards were initiated in 2018 by the Department of Water Resources, River Development, and Ganga Rejuvenation.
  • These awards provide a platform for start-ups and established organizations to engage with policymakers and discuss the adoption of effective water resources management practices in India.

Purpose and Recognition:

  • The awards aim to acknowledge and encourage outstanding efforts and achievements in realizing the vision of a ‘Jal Samriddh Bharat’ (Prosperous India through Water).
  • They recognize the contributions made by states, districts, individuals, organizations, and other entities across the country.


  • The awards cover various categories, including ‘Best State,’ ‘Best District,’ ‘Best Village Panchayat,’ ‘Best Urban Local Body,’ and more.

Awards and Prizes:

  • Winners in each category receive a citation, trophy, and cash prize.
  • The cash prizes for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd rank winners are Rs. 2 lakhs, Rs. 1.5 lakhs, and Rs. 1 lakh, respectively.

May 2024