Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About The PEN Pinter Prize


Recently, the British children’s writer and performance poet Michael Rosen has been awarded the prestigious PEN Pinter Prize 2023.


Facts for Prelims

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. The PEN Pinter Prize
  2. About Michael Rosen

The PEN Pinter Prize:

  • The PEN Pinter Prize was established in 2009 as a tribute to Harold Pinter, the Nobel Laureate playwright.
  • The recipient of the prize must be a writer who has produced a significant body of work, including plays, poetry, essays, or fiction of exceptional literary merit, written in English.
  • The prize is awarded to a writer from the UK, Ireland, or the Commonwealth who demonstrates a fearless commitment to revealing the truth about contemporary life.
  • In addition to honoring a writer from the aforementioned regions, the prize also includes recognition of an international writer of courage. This part of the prize is selected by English PEN’s Writers at Risk Committee in collaboration with the winner.
  • The international writer chosen for this half of the prize is someone who has faced persecution for speaking out about their beliefs.
  • Previous recipients of the PEN Pinter Prize include notable writers such as Malorie Blackman (2022), Tsitsi Dangarembga (2021), Hanif Kureishi (2010), Salman Rushdie (2014), and Lemn Sissay (2019).

About Michael Rosen:

  • Michael Rosen is a renowned figure known for his efforts in making poetry accessible to children through his work and performances.
  • His themes often revolve around social, political, and ethical subjects.
  • With a portfolio of over 140 books, Rosen has championed a writing style for children that reflects their everyday lives, employing humor and wordplay to validate their imaginative ways of thinking.

-Source: Indian Express

April 2024