Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About the Saraswati Samman Award


Recently, Tamil writer Sivasankari was presented with the ‘Saraswati Samman’ 2022 for her book of memoirs Surya Vamsam.


Facts for Prelims

About the Saraswati Samman Award:

The Saraswati Samman Award is a prestigious literary honor in India, recognizing outstanding literary works in various Indian languages. Here are some key details about this award:

  • Annual Award: The Saraswati Samman is awarded annually to authors for their literary contributions over the past ten years. The award considers works in 22 different Indian languages.
  • Significance: It is regarded as one of the highest honors in the field of Indian literature and holds great importance in the literary community.
  • Selection Process: The selection of the award recipients follows a rigorous three-tier process, culminating in a final decision by Chayan Parishad, the governing body responsible for conferring the award.
  • Foundation: The Saraswati Samman Award was instituted by the K. Birla Foundation. This foundation is also associated with other notable literary awards, including the Vyas Samman and the Bihari Puraskar.
  • Prize: The award includes a citation, a plaque, and a cash prize of 15 lakh rupees, making it a substantial recognition for the honored authors.

Other Works of Sivasankari:

Sivasankari, the recipient of the 2020 Saraswati Samman Award, boasts a prolific literary career spanning over five decades. Her body of work is extensive and includes a wide range of literary forms. Here are some details about her literary output:

  • Versatility: Sivasankari has written 36 novels, 48 novellas, 150 short stories, 15 travelogues, seven collections of essays, and three biographies.
  • Memoir: In 2019, she penned a memoir titled “Surya Vamsam,” which is presented in two volumes. The first volume delves into her transformation from childhood to a young writer, while the second volume explores her life and experiences as an acclaimed author, as she spreads her literary wings.

April 2024