Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Vulnerable Sections – Senior Citizens/Aged

 A “senior citizen” means any person being a citizen of India, who has attained the age of sixty years or above. The vulnerability among the elderly is due to an increased incidence of illness and disability, economic dependency upon their spouses, children and other younger family members. Senior Citizens in Numbers According to Census 2011 […]

Vulnerable Sections – Disabled Persons

UN Declaration on the Rights of Disabled Persons (1975): “Any person unable to ensure by himself or herself, wholly or partly the necessities of a normal individual and or social life as a result of a deficiency either congenital or not in his/her physical or mental abilities” could be described as disabled.  Disabled people are […]

Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Other Backward Classes

The Government classifies some of its citizens based on their social and economic condition as Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST), and Other Backward Class (OBC). These citizens are recognised as deserving of special treatment because of the traditional discrimination practiced against them.  Scheduled Castes Scheduled castes are those castes which are notified as Scheduled […]

Vulnerable Sections – Women

 India has traditionally been a patriarchal society and therefore women, irrespective of their class, caste or religion, they have always suffered from social handicaps and disabilities. It thus became necessary to take certain ameliorative steps in order to improve the condition of women in the traditionally male dominated society. • Women face different forms of […]

Vulnerable Sections – Children

All children due to their age are considered to be at risk for exploitation, abuse, violence and neglect. However, children in especially difficult circumstances including orphans and street children, refugee or displaced children, child workers, children trapped in prostitution or sexual abuse, disabled children and delinquent children are particularly vulnerable. But vulnerability cannot be defined […]

Vulnerable Sections

The term vulnerability is defined as “proneness to harm or damage originating from external forces”. According to a widely quoted description, vulnerable groups are: “Groups that experience a higher risk of poverty and social exclusion than the general population. Ethnic minorities, migrants, disabled people, the homeless, those struggling with substance abuse, isolated elderly people and […]

Democracy and Development

India opted for the parliamentary form of government in order to make the nation-state based on the principles of universal adult franchise and periodic election in contrast to the village level government in the light of Gandhian principles. The assessment of democracy depends on the indices used to indicate or measure it. There are mainly […]

Major Governmental Interventions for Development in Various Sectors

Content: 1. Rural Development2. Urban Development3. Skill Development4. Social Security Rural Development Rural development involves both economic development as well as social transformation. The Ministry of Rural Development is implementing several programs through the State Governments to promote better prospects for economic development, aimed at poverty reduction, rural infrastructure habitant development, provision of basic minimum […]

Public Policy in India

What is Public Policy? Public Policy is a proposed course of action of a government within a given environment providing opportunities and obstacles which the policy aims to utilize and overcome to realize a given role. The above definition clearly states that public policies are governmental decisions and resultant actions in pursuance of certain goals […]

Societies, Trusts, Donors, Charities and other Stakeholders

The law concerning Societies, Trusts, Waqfs and other endowments in India can be placed in three broad groupings: • Societies registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 and various States amendments on it after 1947; • Those engaged in pure religious and charitable work registered under the Religious Endowments Act, 1863; the Charitable and Religious […]