Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

British Academy Book Prize 2023


Nandini Das, an India-born author, won the British Academy Book Prize 2023 for Global Cultural Understanding, for her book ‘Courting India: England, Mughal India, and the Origins of Empire.’


Facts for Prelims

About the British Academy Book Prize:

  • The British Academy Book Prize, previously known as the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize, was established in 2013.
  • This prestigious award is designed to recognize and celebrate outstanding works of non-fiction that exhibit rigor, originality, and a significant contribution to enhancing the public’s understanding of diverse world cultures and their interactions.
  • The British Academy, which is the United Kingdom’s national academy for humanities and social sciences, administers this book prize.
  • Eligible books considered for this prize encompass a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences. This includes fields such as archaeology, history, psychology, philosophy, languages, cultural studies, and more.
  • The latest recipient of the award is Nandini Das, a Professor in the English faculty at the University of Oxford, who was honored for her book titled ‘Courting India: England, Mughal India and the Origins of Empire.’
  • The winner of the British Academy Book Prize receives a cash award of £25,000. Additionally, each of the shortlisted works is granted a prize of £1,000.

-Source: Indian Express

December 2023