Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

National Essential Diagnostics List


The Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has begun the process of revising the current National Essential Diagnostics List (NEDL) and invited relevant stakeholders to offer suggestions on adding or deleting diagnostic tests to the current list by the end of February.


GS II: Health

National Essential Diagnostics List (NEDL): Ensuring Access to Crucial Tests in Healthcare

Objective and Scope:

  • The NEDL outlines essential and fundamental diagnostic tests crucial for healthcare facilities at various levels, including village centers, sub-health centers, wellness centers, and primary health centers.

Initiative and Release:

  • Introduced by the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), the first NEDL was unveiled in 2019 to emphasize the importance of diagnostics in the healthcare system.

Inclusions in the List:

  • Encompassing general laboratory tests for common conditions, the list incorporates diagnostics for both communicable and non-communicable diseases.
  • Disease-specific tests for ailments such as HIV, hepatitis, tuberculosis, dengue, malaria, and region-specific endemic diseases are part of the NEDL.

Global Significance:

  • India holds the distinction of being the first country to introduce the National Essential Diagnostics List.

Definition of Essential Diagnostic Tests:

  • These tests address priority healthcare needs, considering disease prevalence, public health relevance, efficacy, accuracy, and cost-effectiveness.
  • Focus on conditions with a substantial disease burden, ensuring the introduction of diagnostic tests significantly impacts disease diagnosis and management.

-Source: The Hindu


March 2024