Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

PIB Summaries 13 January 2024

  1. Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS)
  2. National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023


Southern Railway has identified 90 stations for development under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS).


GS II: Government Policies and Interventions

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS)
  2. Facilities Planned under ABSS

Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS):

  • The Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS) aims at the development of railway stations with a long-term vision, focusing on enhancing facilities and amenities beyond the minimum essential requirements.
  • The scheme will consolidate and replace previous redevelopment projects that have not yet commenced.
Implementation Approach:
  • The scheme entails the preparation of Master Plans for railway stations and their phased implementation.
  • Master Plans will be based on factors such as station footfall and inputs from stakeholders.
  • Zonal railways are responsible for selecting stations, which will then be approved by a committee of senior railway officials.
  • The objective is to execute low-cost redevelopment that can be implemented in a timely manner.
Facilities Planned under ABSS:
  • Creation of a Roof Plaza in the future.
  • Provision of free Wi-Fi and space for 5G mobile towers.
  • Improving access through road widening, removal of unwanted structures, well-designed signages, dedicated pedestrian pathways, well-planned parking areas, and improved lighting.
  • Efforts will be made to combine different grades/types of waiting halls and provide quality cafeteria and retail facilities.
  • Upgrading furniture in waiting rooms, platforms, restrooms, and offices.
  • High-level platforms (760-840 millimeters) will be provided at all categories of stations.
  • Special amenities will be incorporated for the disabled, following guidelines issued by the Railway Board.


Recently, the President of India presented the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan.


Facts for Prelims

National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023 Overview

Annual Recognition of Sporting Excellence
  • The National Sports Awards are an annual recognition of outstanding achievements and contributions to sports in India.
Categories of National Sports Awards

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

  • India’s highest sporting honor established in 1991-92, named after hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand.
  • Given for exceptional performances in sports over a four-year period.
  • Awardees receive a medallion, certificate, and a cash prize.

Arjuna Award

  • Awarded for consistent excellent performance over four years.
  • Recipients receive a statuette of Arjuna, a certificate, and a cash prize.

Dronacharya Award

  • Instituted in 1985, the highest sports honor for coaches.
  • Awarded to coaches producing medal winners at prestigious international events.
  • Awardees receive a bronze statue of Dronacharya, a certificate, and a cash prize.

Major Dhyan Chand Award

  • India’s highest honor for lifetime achievements in sports.
  • Recognizes individuals contributing to sports promotion since 2002.
  • Awardees receive a Dhyan Chand statuette, a certificate, and a cash prize.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA)

  • Instituted in 1956–1957, awarded to an institution or university for top performance in inter-university tournaments over the past year.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

  • Awarded to organizations, corporates (private and public), and individuals for significant roles in sports promotion and development over the last three years.

February 2024