Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Sahitya Akademi Award 2023


The Sahitya Akademi has recently announced the Sahitya Akademi Award 2023 in 24 languages.


Facts for Prelims

Key Points

  • A total of nine poetry books, six novels, five short story collections, three essays, and one literary study have been honored with the prestigious award.
  • The award is presented in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 for each awardee.

Sahitya Akademi Award: Recognizing Literary Excellence


  • The Sahitya Akademi Award was established in 1954, serving as a prestigious literary honour.

Conferred by Sahitya Akademi:

  • Awarded annually by Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters.

Number of Awards:

  • Sahitya Akademi confers 24 awards each year for literary works in recognized languages and an additional 24 awards for literary translations.

Recognized Languages:

  • Apart from the 22 languages mentioned in the Constitution of India, English and Rajasthani are also recognized for the Sahitya Akademi awards.


  • The Sahitya Akademi Award is the second-highest literary honour by the Government of India, following the Jnanpith award.
Criteria for Awardee Selection:
  • The author must be of Indian nationality.
  • The eligible book or work should be an outstanding contribution to the language and literature it represents.
  • In cases of equal merit, additional factors such as the total literary contribution and standing of authors are considered for declaring the award.
Other Sahitya Akademi Awards:
  • Bal Sahitya Puraskar:
    • Recognizes an author’s total contribution to children’s literature, focusing on books published in the five years preceding the award year.
  • Yuva Puraskar:
    • Pertains to books published by an author aged 35 and below, showcasing emerging talent in the literary field.

March 2024