Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

East Asia Summit

Focus: GS II: International Relations

Why in News?

Recently, India participated in the 6th East Asia Summit Education Minister’s Meeting held in Hanoi, Vietnam.

About: East Asia Summit

  • It was established in 2005.
  • It is a forum of 18 regional leaders for strategic dialogue and cooperation on the key political, security, and economic challenges facing the Indo-Pacific region.
  • The concept of an East Asia Grouping was first promoted in 1991 by the then Malaysian Prime Minister, Mahathir bin Mohamad.
  • There are six priority areas of regional cooperation within the framework of the EAS.
    • Environment and Energy,
    • Education,
    • Finance,
    • Global Health Issues, Pandemic Diseases,
    • Natural Disaster Management,
    • ASEAN Connectivity.
  • The EAS calendar culminates in the annual Leaders’ Summit, which is usually held alongside ASEAN Leaders’ meetings in the fourth quarter of every year.
  • Meetings of EAS Foreign Ministers and Economic Ministers are also held annually.
  • It comprises the ten member states of the ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) which are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam, along with 8 other countries namely Australia, China, Japan, India, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, Russia and the USA.
  • It is an ASEAN-centred forum so it can only be chaired by an ASEAN member.
  • Brunei Darussalam is the chair for 2021.

February 2024