Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive

Focus:  GS I- Indian culture.

Why in News?

President of India lays foundation stone for PRASHAD project in Bhadrachalam and UNESCO World Heritage Site at Rudreshwar Temple (Ramappa), Mulugu in Telangana


  • The ‘National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive’ (PRASAD) was launched by the Ministry of Tourism in the year 2014-15 with the objective of holistic development of identified pilgrimage destinations.
  • The name of the scheme was changed from PRASAD to “National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual, Heritage Augmentation Drive (PRASHAD)” in October 2017.
  • After the discontinuation of the HRIDAY scheme of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development, the development of Heritage destinations was included in the PRASAD Scheme, changing it to PRASHAD.
  • Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD) is a Central Sector Scheme that focuses on identifying and developing the pilgrim sites across the country to enrich the religious tourism experience. It was launched by the Ministry of Tourism.
  • The Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) to State Governments for promoting tourism at identified destinations. For components within public funding under this scheme, Central Government will provide 100% fund.
  • For improved sustainability of project, it also seeks to involve Public Private Partnership (PPP) and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as well.
Objectives of PRASHAD Scheme
  • It wants to Harness pilgrimage tourism for its direct and multiplier effect upon employment generation and economic development.
  • It Enhances tourist attractiveness in sustainable manner by developing world class infrastructure in the religious destinations.
  • It also seeks to promote local art, culture, handicraft, cuisine, etc.
  • It Strengthen the mechanism for bridging the infrastructural gaps.
  • It follow community based development and create awareness among the local communities.
Below are the 12 cities initial chosen under PRASHAD Scheme
  • Kamakhya (Assam),
  • Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh)
  • Dwaraka (Gujarat), 
  • Gaya (Bihar),
  • Amritsar (Punjab),
  • Ajmer (Rajasthan),
  • Puri (Odisha), 
  • Kedarnath (Uttarakhand)
  • Kanchipuram(Tamil Nadu)
  • Velankanni (Tamil Nadu),
  • Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh), 
  • Mathura (Uttar Pradesh).

July 2024