Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Focus: GS II- International Relations

Why in News?

The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister was apprised about the Agreement signed among the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation member states on cooperation in the field of youth work among the authorized bodies of the member states of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO).

About the Agreement:

  • The areas of cooperation includes; strengthen cooperation in the field of work with youth and public youth organizations (associations) implementing state youth policy, as well as support initiatives aimed at enhancing international youth cooperation.
  • The areas of cooperation further includes training of professional staff in the sphere of work with youth; Exchange of scientific, reference and methodological materials, work experience of state bodies, youth public organization, other organizations and associations involved in the implementation of state youth policy and support of youth initiatives;
  • Carrying out joint research and activities on various youth policy issues and youth cooperation;
  • Exchange of scientific publications, research works on topical issues of preventing youth involvement in destructive structures;
  • Promote joint economic and humanitarian initiatives aimed at engaging youth in entrepreneurship and innovative projects to increase their employment and well-being; supporting the activities of the SCO Youth Council.
  • The objective of the Agreement is to strengthen mutual trust, friendly relations and cooperation among young people of SCO member States.
  • Recognizing the importance of ensuring the development of youth cooperation as an element of deepening friendly relations among the SCO Member States.
  • Seeking to further improve the conditions for youth cooperation based on international experience.

About Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO);-

  • It is a permanent intergovernmental international organization.
  • It’s creation was announced on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai (China) by the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan.
  • It was preceded by the Shanghai Five mechanism.
  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Charter was signed during the St. Petersburg SCO Heads of State meeting in June 2002, and entered into force on 19 September 2003.
  • The SCO’s official languages are Russian and Chinese.
  • Its membership was expanded to include India and Pakistan in 2017.
  • The SCO also has four observer states i.e. Afghanistan, Iran, Belarus and Mongolia,  which may be inducted at a later date.
  • Headquarters:  Beijing, China.

July 2024