Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About Kumaon Himalayas


Recently, the Supreme Court halted the 90 acres project in ecologically fragile and seismic-prone lower Himalayan ranges in the Kumaon hills of Uttarakhand.


Facts for Prelims

Kumaon Himalayas

Geographic Location

  • Region: West-central section of the Himalayas in northern India.
  • Boundaries: Extends between the Sutlej River in the west and the Kali River in the east.
  • Composition: Encompasses parts of the Siwalik Range in the south and the Great Himalayas in the north, primarily within Uttarakhand, northwest of Nepal.
Major Peaks and Lakes
  • Highest Peaks: Nanda Devi and Kamet.
  • Prominent Lakes: Naini Lake, Sattal, Bhimtal, Naukuchiya Tal.

Key Hill Stations

  • Notable Hill Stations: Nainital, Ranikhet, Almora.

Cultural Significance

  • Indigenous Tribes: Home to Tharus, Bhutiyas, Jaunsaris, Buksas, and Rajiswhose.

Environmental Concerns

  • Fragility: Recognized as an ecologically fragile and seismic-prone region.

Shiwalik Range


  • Location: Sub-Himalayan Mountain Range stretching 1,600 km from the Teesta River, through Sikkim, Nepal, and India, into northern Pakistan.
  • Alignment: Runs parallel to the Himalayan system from Haridwar on the Ganges to the Beas River.

Elevation and Composition

  • Height: Average elevation ranges from 900 to 1,200 meters.
  • Geology: Primarily composed of low sandstone and conglomerate hills, with solidified and up-heaved detritus from the greater Himalayan range, featuring an intermediate valley lying between the outer hills and Mussoorie.

-Source: The Hindu

June 2024