Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About The Angkor Wat


Angkor Wat temple, located in Cambodia, has defeated Pompeii in Italy to become the eighth Wonder of the World.

  • The unofficial title “Eighth Wonder of the World” is sometimes given to buildings, structures, projects, designs, or even people who are thought to be comparable to the Seven Wonders of the World.


GS I: History

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Angkor Wat: Majestic Temple Complex
  2. Distinctive Features
  3. Geographical Location

Angkor Wat: Majestic Temple Complex

  • Angkor Wat stands as the largest religious monument globally, constructed by Khmer King Suryavarman II in the first half of the 12th century.
  • Originally dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu, it later transformed into a Buddhist temple by the late 12th century.
  • Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1992.

Distinctive Features:

Architectural Elements:
  • Constructed using sandstone blocks.
  • Protected by a 15-foot-high wall and a wide moat.
  • Encompasses a vast area of 200 acres.
Sacred Symbolism:
  • The temple boasts five major towers symbolizing the peaks of Mount Meru, considered the abode of gods in Hindu and Buddhist mythology.
  • Thousands of bas-reliefs on temple walls depict significant deities, figures, and narrative events from Hindu and Buddhist traditions.

Geographical Location:

  • Situated in the northwestern province of Siem Reap in Cambodia.
  • Part of the larger city of Angkor, the capital of the Khmer Empire thriving from the 9th to 15th centuries.
  • Angkor spans over 400 km2, housing remnants of various temples, including Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom, Bayon Temple, and Ta Prohm.

-Source: Times of India

February 2024