Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Indira Gandhi Peace Prize


Recently, the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament, and Development 2022 was jointly awarded to the Indian Medical Association and the Trained Nurses Association of India as representatives of the COVID-19 warriors in the country.


Facts for Prelims

Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

Inception and Purpose:
  • Instituted in 1986, the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament, and Development honors the memory of the former prime minister.
  • Aims to acknowledge outstanding contributions to international peace, development, and the use of scientific discoveries for humanity’s betterment.
Award Components:
  • The prize comprises a monetary award of 25 lakh rupees and a citation.
Criteria for Recognition:
  • Recognizes individuals or organizations working towards international peace and development.
  • Emphasizes the responsible use of scientific advancements to promote freedom and benefit humanity.
  • Encourages efforts in creating a new international economic order.
Distinguished Recipients:
  • Past laureates include prominent figures and entities:
    • Mikhail Gorbachev, former leader of the Soviet Union (1987).
    • UNICEF (1989).
    • Jimmy Carter, former president of the US (1997).
    • UN and its secretary-general Kofi Annan (2003).
    • Angela Merkel, chancellor of Germany (2013).
    • Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) (2014).
    • Former Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh (2017).
    • Sir David Attenborough (2019).
    • Pratham NGO (2021).

-Source: The Hindu

December 2023