Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Jnanpith Award: Celebrating Literary Excellence


The Jnanpith selection committee announced that the 58th Jnanpith Award will be given to two writers, Sanskrit scholar Jagadguru Rambhadracharya and Urdu poet and lyricist Gulzar, for 2023.


GS I: History

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Jnanpith Award: Celebrating Literary Excellence
  2. Contributions of Gulzar and Jagadguru Rambhadracharya

Jnanpith Award: Celebrating Literary Excellence


  • Instituted in 1961, the Jnanpith Award is India’s oldest and highest literary honor.


  • Considers outstanding contributions to literature in both English and other Indian languages.
  • Restricted to Indian citizens, and not conferred posthumously.

Presented by Bharatiya Jnanpith:

  • Established in 1944 by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain and Rama Jain.
  • A distinguished literary and research organization headquartered in New Delhi, actively promoting literature and culture.

Cash Prize and Recognition:

  • Awardees receive a cash prize of Rs 11 lakh, a statue of Vagdevi, and a citation, recognizing their significant literary contributions.

Contributions of Gulzar and Jagadguru Rambhadracharya

  • Born on August 18, 1934, in Dina, Jhelum district of undivided India.
  • Respected figure in cinema and literature, considered one of the finest Urdu poets.
  • Notable Awards: Sahitya Akademi Award (2002), Dadasaheb Phalke Award (2013), Padma Bhushan (2004), National Film Awards.
  • Invented the ‘Triveni’ genre in poetry.
  • Iconic Works: “Jai Ho” for “Slumdog Millionaire,” winning an Oscar (2009) and Grammy Award (2010).
Jagadguru Rambhadracharya:
  • Born in 1950 in Jaunpur, Uttar Pradesh; speaks 22 languages.
  • Polyglot, Hindu spiritual leader, poet, and writer.
  • Authored over 240 books in languages like Sanskrit, Hindi, Awadhi, and Maithili.
  • Awarded Padma Vibhushan in 2015.
  • Founder of Tulsi Peeth in Chitrakoot, Madhya Pradesh, a leading publisher of Hindu religious literature.
  • Head of Tulsi Peeth and one of the four Jagadguru Ramanandacharyas since 1982.
  • Leader of the Ramanandi Sampradaya, emphasizing worship of Rama, Vishnu, and other incarnations.

-Source: The Hindu

April 2024