Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Mughal Gardens Will Now Be Called as Amrit Udyan


The Rashtrapati Bhavan gardens — popularly known as the Mughal Gardens was renamed as Amrit Udyan.


GS I: Art and Culture

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. The Amrit Udyan: A Landscape of Mughal and English Styles
  2. Charbagh Style of Mughal Gardening in India

The Amrit Udyan: A Landscape of Mughal and English Styles

  • Design Finalization: The designs for the Mughal Gardens were finalized by Edwin Lutyens in 1917, but planting wasn’t done until 1928-1929.
  • Spread Across 15 Acres: The Amrit Udyan spans 15 acres, encompassing both Mughal and English landscaping styles.
  • Charbagh Garden: The main garden is divided into a grid of squares by two channels intersecting at right angles, creating a Charbagh (four-cornered garden), a signature characteristic of Mughal landscaping.
  • Lotus-Shaped Fountains: Six lotus-shaped fountains, rising to 12 feet, can be found at the intersections of the channels.
  • Rich Floral Collection: The gardens are home to over 2500 varieties of Dahlias and 120 varieties of roses.

Charbagh Style of Mughal Gardening in India

  • Introduction: The Mughals were renowned for their love of gardens, and the Persian Charbagh style was a favorite among them.
  • Definition: Charbagh is a rectangular garden divided into four equal sections, symbolizing the perfect harmony between humans and nature.
  • Spread: This style can be found in many gardens across lands ruled by the Mughals, from Humayun’s Tomb in Delhi to Nishat Bagh in Srinagar.
  • Characteristics: A defining feature of these gardens is the use of waterways to separate the quadrants, along with the presence of fountains symbolizing the cycle of life.
  • Legacy: These gardens, known as Mughal Gardens, continue to evoke the essence of Mughal elegance and sophistication, showcasing the beauty of their style of gardening.

Source: The Hindu, Indian Express

February 2024