Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

PIB Summaries 12 March 2022


  1. National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB)

National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB)

Focus: GS II- Polity and Governance

Why in News?

Recently, Union Minister of Home Affairs and Minister of Cooperation attended the 37th Foundation Day celebrations of National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) as the Chief Guest in New Delhi. 

About National Crime Records Bureau

  • The National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) is a government body in India that collects and analyses crime data as defined by the Indian Penal Code (IPC) and Special and Local Laws (SLL).
  • NCRB is part of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) of the Government of India and has its headquarters in New Delhi.
  • The NCRB was established in 1986.
  • The Inter-State Criminals Data Branch, the Directorate of Coordination and Police Computer (DCPC), and the CBI’s Central Finger Print Bureau merged to become the NCRB.
  • The Crime and Criminal Tracking Networking System (CCTNS) was approved in 2009 as part of the NCRB’s growth, and the Digital Police Portal was established in 2017.


  • Maintain a national database of fingerprints of all criminals in India.
  • Create, lead, and coordinate the development of IT applications for Police.
  • Collate information and maintain statistics on crime and criminals at the national level.
  • Creation and maintenance of Database at the National level for law enforcement agencies.
  • To coordinate, guide and assist the functioning of the State Crime Records Bureaux, along with, providing training facilities to personnel of the Crime Records bureaux
  • To function as the National storehouse of fingerprint (FP) records of convicted persons including FP records of foreign criminals
  • To keep the central and state governments updated with the official records and findings related to any case


Focus: GS II- Government Policies and Interventions

Why in News?

Minister of Panchayati Raj & Rural Development launched the SMS functionality developed wherein SMS will be rolled out to Elected Representatives (Members of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assemblies) of respective State / UT informing about the commencement of drone flying in their respective constituency scheduled for survey under SVAMITVA scheme.


  • SVAMITVA (Survey of Villages and Mapping with Improvised Technology in Village Areas) scheme is a collaborative effort of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, State Panchayati Raj Departments, State Revenue Departments and Survey of India.
  • It is a Central Sector Scheme
  • Aim: To provide the ‘Record of Rights’ to village household owners possessing houses in inhabited areas in villages with issuance of legal ownership rights (Property cards/Title deeds).
  • It is a scheme for mapping the land parcels in rural inhabited areas using drone technology and Continuously Operating Reference Station (CORS).
  • The mapping will be done across the country in a phase-wise manner over a period of four years – from 2020 to 2024.
  • It is being implemented with the collaborative efforts of the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, Survey of India (SoI), State Revenue Department, State Panchayati Raj Department and National Informatics Centre.
  • States need to sign Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with SoI for implementation of the scheme


  • The scheme will help in streamlining planning and revenue collection in rural areas and ensuring clarity on property rights.
  • The scheme will enable creation of better-quality Gram Panchayat Development Plans (GPDPs), using the maps created under this programme.
  • The Gram Panchayats are constitutionally mandated for preparation of Gram Panchayat Development Plans (GPDP) for economic development and social justice.
  • The GPDP is based on a participatory process in convergence with schemes of all related Central Ministries/Line Departments related to 29 subjects listed in the Eleventh Schedule of the Constitution.
  • Present Coverage Area: The program is currently being implemented in six states – Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

December 2023