Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Statehood day of Tripura, Meghalaya and Manipur

Focus: GS I: Post-independence consolidation and reorganization within the country.

Why in News?

The Prime Minister of India congratulated the people of Tripura, Meghalaya and Manipur on their 52nd statehood day. On 21st January, 1972, all the three states became full-fledged states under the North Eastern Region (Reorganisation) Act, 1971. Therefore, the Statehood Day of Meghalaya is celebrated on January 21st every year.  

Statehood Day is celebrated in India to commemorate the day when a particular state was officially recognized as a separate state of the Indian Union.

About Meghalaya:

  • Capital: Shillong
  • It is bounded on the north by Goalpara, Kamrup and Nowgong districts, on the east by Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills districts, all of Assam, and on the south and west by Bangladesh.
  • It is predominantly inhabited by the Khasis, the Jaintias, and the Garo tribal communities. 
  • The Khasi Hills and Jaintia Hills, form the central and eastern part of Meghalaya.
  • It is subject to the vagaries of the monsoon. 

 About Tripura:

  • Capital: Agartala
  •  It shares borders with Bangladesh, Mizoram and Assam. 
  • The state is connected with the rest of India by NH-44 that runs through Assam, Meghalaya, North Bengal, Kolkata and other parts of India
  • The social composition of the population of Tripura is diverse.
  • Around one-third of the population belongs to the Scheduled Tribes.

About Manipur:

  • Capital:  Imphal
  • It means “A jeweled land” nestled deep within a lush green corner of  Eastern India.
  •  The state shares borders with other northeast states like Nagaland, Mizoram and Assam as well as with the neighbouring country of Myanmar.
  • The then Governor-General of India Lord Irwin on his visit, described ‘Manipur as the Switzerland of the East.
  • Its rich culture excels in every aspect as in martial arts, dance, theatre and sculptor
  •  Manipur hills are inhabited mainly by the Nagas, Kukis (Chin-Mizos)and smaller tribal communities and the valley are mainly by the Meiteis (including Meitei Muslims known as Meitei Pangal or Pangal and “Bhamons” who are non-Meiteis). 
  • Some Naga and Kuki settlements are also found in the valley region. 

February 2024