Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About The African Union (AU)


India’s G-20 Sherpa recently said that the Indian Prime Minister’s proposal to make the African Union a permanent member of the G-20 has received an overwhelming response from the grouping.


GS II: International Relations

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. The African Union (AU)
  2. Structure

The African Union (AU):

  • The AU is a continental body comprising 55 member states from the African Continent.
  • Official Launch: It was officially launched in 2002, succeeding the Organization of African Unity (OAU) established in 1963.
  • Primary Objective: To foster unity, cooperation, and development among African nations and promote the continent’s interests globally.
  • Vision: To achieve an integrated, prosperous, and peaceful Africa through strengthened political, economic, and social integration.
  • Headquarters: Located in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.


  • Assembly: The highest decision-making body, consisting of heads of state and government of member countries.
  • Executive Council: Comprising foreign affairs ministers, it handles policy matters and offers recommendations to the Assembly.
  • AU Commission: Based in Addis Ababa, it serves as the administrative arm responsible for implementing decisions made by the Assembly and Executive Council.
  • Peace and Security Council: Responsible for maintaining peace and security across the continent.
  • Participation of Citizens: The AU encourages African citizens and civil society involvement through the Pan-African Parliament and the Economic, Social & Cultural Council (ECOSOCC).

-Source: Indian Express

December 2023