Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About Trust Vote – Floor Test


The Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren wins the trust vote on the floor of the Jharkhand Assembly.  Forty-seven Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led alliance legislators voted for the motion and 29 against the motion. He is set to take oath on 7 February, 2024.

  • He was appointed as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand following the resignation by former CM Hemant Soren, who was arrested by ED in connection with land scam case.


GS II: Polity and Governance

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Trust vote
  2. What is a Floor Test?
  3. Motion of No-Confidence
  4. Passing of No-Confidence Motion in Lok Sabha

Trust vote:

  • A confidence motion or a trust vote is a procedure for the government to prove its majority in the House.
  • Indicates continued mandate to govern.
  • It can be moved by the government or brought by the opposition.

What is a Floor Test?

  • A floor test can be explained as a motion initiated by the government in position seeking to know if it enjoys the confidence of the legislature.
  • As part of this procedure, the chief minister appointed by the governor will be asked to prove majority on the Legislative Assembly’s floor.
  • When a floor test is called for in the assembly of a state, the chief minister will move a vote of confidence and prove that he has the majority support.
  • If the floor test fails, the chief minister will have to resign.
  • The whole idea of a floor test is incorporated in the constitution of India to ensure transparency in the constitutional process.

Motion of No-Confidence

  • No-confidence Motion or Motion of No-confidence is one of different types of motions in Indian Parliament. The constitutional provision behind this motion is Article 75, which says that “Council of Ministers shall be collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha”.
  • Thus, a council of ministers stays in office as long as it enjoys the confidence of majority of the members of Lok Sabha. Lok Sabha can remove the ministry from office by passing motion of no-confidence by simple majority.
  • Process of no-confidence motion is mentioned under Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and conduct of Lok Sabha.
  • Motion of No-confidence can be moved  only in Lok Sabha (Or State Legislative Assembly).
  • Rajya Sabha (Or state Legislative Council) does not have power to entertain such motion since it decides the fate of a popularly elected government.

Passing of No-Confidence Motion in Lok Sabha

  • Such a motion can be moved by any member of the house.
  • The member moving such motion is generally a member of opposition.
  • The motion need support of at least 50 members to be admitted.
  • Once admitted, it has to be passed within 10 days in the house.
  • The motion has to be passed by simple majority.
  • If passed, the Union Council of Ministers has to resign and government at centre falls. There is no impact on health of the government if such motion is not passed.

-Source: The Hindu

February 2024