Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

India invited to become full-time IEA member


International Energy Agency (IEA) has invited India, the world’s third-largest energy consumer, to become its full-time member.


GS-II: International Relations (Important International Groupings and Organizations), GS-III: Environment and Ecology

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. About the International Energy Agency (IEA)
  2. IEA’s Role and Functions
  3. Membership of IEA

About the International Energy Agency (IEA)

  • The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an autonomous Intergovernmental Organisation established in 1974 in Paris, France.
  • IEA mainly focuses on its energy policies which include economic development, energy security and environmental protection. These policies are also known as the 3 E’s of IEA.
  • It is best known for the publication of its annual World Energy Outlook.

IEA’s Role and Functions

  • IEA’s role has expanded to cover the entire global energy system, encompassing traditional energy sources such as oil, gas, and coal as well as cleaner and faster growing ones such as solar PV, wind power and biofuels.
  • IEA acts as a policy adviser to its member states, as well as major emerging economies such as Brazil, China, India, Indonesia and South Africa to support energy security and advance the clean energy transition worldwide.
  • IEA’s mandate has broadened to focus on providing analysis, data, policy recommendations and solutions to help countries ensure secure, affordable and sustainable energy for all. In particular, it has focused on supporting global efforts to accelerate the clean energy transition and mitigate climate change.
  • The IEA has a broad role in promoting rational energy policies and multinational energy technology co-operation with a view to reaching net zero emissions.
  • IEA Clean Coal Centre is dedicated to providing independent information and analysis on how coal can become a cleaner source of energy, compatible with the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Membership of IEA

  • The IEA is made up of 30 member countries. Only OECD member states can become members of the IEA.
  • IEA member countries are required to maintain total oil stock levels equivalent to at least 90 days of the previous year’s net imports.
  • In 2018, Mexico joined the IEA and became its 30th member.
  • India became an Associate member of IEA (NOT full membership) in 2017 but it was in engagement with IEA long before its association with the organization.
  • Other Association Countries of IEA apart from India are: Brazil, China, Indonesia, Morocco, Singapore, South Africa and Thailand.

More about India as a full-time member of IEA

  • If India accepts International Energy Agency (IEA)’s proposal to to become its full-time member, then it will have to raise strategic oil reserves to 90 days requirement.
  • India, in March 2017, became an associate member of the Paris-based body which advises industrialised nations on energy policies.
  • IEA states that “India is becoming increasingly influential in global energy trends”, and this could be the reason for the invite to become a full-time member.

-Source: The Hindu

December 2023