Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

India Web Browser Development Challenge


The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) recently launched the Indian Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC).


GS III: Science and Technology

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. India Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC)
  2. Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA)

India Web Browser Development Challenge (IWBDC)

  • MeitY, in partnership with the Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) and C-DAC Bangalore, drives the India Web Browser Development Challenge.
  • The challenge aims to inspire tech enthusiasts, innovators, and developers across India to create a native web browser.

Challenge’s Aim:

  • Encourage the creation of a homegrown web browser.
  • The browser should establish its own trust store, employ a root certificate from India’s CCA, and offer advanced functionalities alongside robust security and data privacy features.


  • The government has introduced a cash prize of Rs 3.4 crores for the developers, motivating their active participation.
Eligibility Criteria:
  • Indian Tech Start-ups, MSMEs, Companies, and LLPs registered under the Companies Act 2013 in India can apply.
  • The entity should possess at least 51% shareholding by Indian citizens or persons of Indian origin.
  • The applicant’s entity should not be a subsidiary of any foreign corporation.
  • Individuals can apply with a group of 3 to 7 members, while other entities should apply under the “organization” category.
Desired Browser Attributes:
  • The browser must be compatible with various platforms like iOS, Android, and Desktop.
  • Inclusion of built-in accessibility support is crucial.
  • The browser should facilitate document digital signing using a crypto token.
  • Incorporation of parental control and a web filter for child-friendly browsing is essential.
  • Support for Web3 and compliance with W3C standards are expected.
  • Native support for all official Indian languages should be present.

Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA)

  • The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) is established under the provisions of the Information Technology Act 2000 (IT Act).

Regulatory Mandate:

  • The primary function of the CCA is to license and oversee the operations of Certifying Authorities (CAs).
  • CAs are entities responsible for issuing digital signature certificates used for electronic user authentication.

National Repository of Digital Certificates (NRDC):

  • CCA maintains the National Repository of Digital Certificates (NRDC), housing certificates issued by all CAs across the nation.
  • NRDC plays a pivotal role in managing and ensuring the integrity of digital signatures.

Promotion of Digital Signatures:

  • CCA’s mission is to bolster the expansion of e-Commerce and e-Governance by promoting widespread adoption of digital signatures.
  • Digital signatures play a vital role in ensuring secure and trustworthy electronic transactions and communications.

Appointment and Authority:

  • The Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA) is appointed by the Central Government, as per section 17 of the IT Act.

-Source: The Economic Times

March 2024