Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

PIB Summaries 26 December 2023

  1. PM-AJAY Scheme
  2. Sahitya Akademi Award 2023: Celebrating Literary Excellence


Recently, the Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment informed the Rajya Sabha about the PM-AJAY scheme.


GS II: Government Policies and Interventions

PM-AJAY Scheme: Empowering Scheduled Castes for Holistic Development

Scheme Overview:
  • Pradhan Mantri Anusuchit Jaati Abhyuday Yojana (PM-AJAY) is a 100% Centrally Sponsored Scheme.
Merged Schemes:
  • PM-AJAY is a consolidated scheme merging three Centrally Sponsored Schemes: Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY), Special Central Assistance to Scheduled Castes Sub Plan (SCA to SCSP), and Babu Jagjivan Ram Chhatrawas Yojana (BJRCY).
  • Increase the income of the target population through income-generating schemes, skill development, and infrastructure development.
  • Reduce poverty among the targeted Scheduled Castes (SC) population and bring them above the poverty line.
Eligibility Criteria:
  • Scheduled Castes persons living below the poverty line are eligible for benefits under this scheme.
  • Villages with 50% or more SC population qualify for grants under the scheme for infrastructure development.
Implementation Components (Since 2021-22):
  • Development of SC Dominated Villages into an ‘Adarsh Gram’:
    • Aims at transforming villages with a significant SC population into model villages.
  • Grants-in-Aid for District/State-level Projects:
    • Supports socio-economic betterment projects for SCs at the district and state levels.
  • Construction of Hostels in Higher Educational Institutions:
    • Focuses on building hostels to facilitate higher education for SC students.
Implementation Period:
  • Implemented since 2021-22 with a multi-component approach.
Overall Goal:
  • The scheme strives for the holistic development of Scheduled Castes, fostering economic empowerment, skill enhancement, and improved infrastructure.


The Sahitya Akademi has recently announced the Sahitya Akademi Award 2023 in 24 languages.


Facts for Prelims

Key Points

  • A total of nine poetry books, six novels, five short story collections, three essays, and one literary study have been honored with the prestigious award.
  • The award is presented in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 for each awardee.

Sahitya Akademi Award: Recognizing Literary Excellence


  • The Sahitya Akademi Award was established in 1954, serving as a prestigious literary honour.

Conferred by Sahitya Akademi:

  • Awarded annually by Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters.

Number of Awards:

  • Sahitya Akademi confers 24 awards each year for literary works in recognized languages and an additional 24 awards for literary translations.

Recognized Languages:

  • Apart from the 22 languages mentioned in the Constitution of India, English and Rajasthani are also recognized for the Sahitya Akademi awards.


  • The Sahitya Akademi Award is the second-highest literary honour by the Government of India, following the Jnanpith award.
Criteria for Awardee Selection:
  • The author must be of Indian nationality.
  • The eligible book or work should be an outstanding contribution to the language and literature it represents.
  • In cases of equal merit, additional factors such as the total literary contribution and standing of authors are considered for declaring the award.
Other Sahitya Akademi Awards:
  • Bal Sahitya Puraskar:
    • Recognizes an author’s total contribution to children’s literature, focusing on books published in the five years preceding the award year.
  • Yuva Puraskar:
    • Pertains to books published by an author aged 35 and below, showcasing emerging talent in the literary field.

February 2024