Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Who Are the Bucharest Nine (B9) Countries?

The envoys to India of nine Eastern European countries called Bucharest Nine jointly wrote to Indian public about the Russian invasion in Ukraine.

What is Bucharest Nine?

  • It is a group of nine NATO countries in Eastern Europe that became part of the US-led military alliance after the end of the Cold War.
  • It was founded on November 4, 2015, and takes its name from Bucharest, the capital of Romania.


  • The B9 are Romania, Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.
  • All members of the B9 are part of the European Union (EU) and North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO).

Functions of B9

  • Deepening the dialogue and consultation among the participant allied states.
  • Total compliance with the principles of solidarity and indivisibility of the security of the NATO Member States.

Source – Indian Express

February 2024