Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Abel Prize awarded to American Mathematician

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has awarded the Abel prize for the year 2022 to American Mathematician Dennis Parnell Sullivan for his contributions to topology.

Abel Prize

  • Awarded annually by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians.
  • Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829) and directly modeled after the Nobel Prizes.
  • Its establishment was proposed by the Norwegian mathematician Sophus Lie.
  • The laureates are selected by the Abel Committee, the members of which are appointed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
  • R. Srinivasa Varadhan, an Indian-American citizen won the Abel Prize in the year 2007 for his valuable contribution in “probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviation”.

Source – The Hindu

June 2024