Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

About The Central Information Commission


Recently, the Information Commissioner, Heeralal Samariya, was sworn in as the chief of the Central Information Commission (CIC) by the President Of India.


GS II: Polity and Governance

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Central Information Commission
  2. Eligibility

Central Information Commission:

The Central Information Commission (CIC) was established under the Right to Information Act, 2005. It holds jurisdiction over all Central Public Authorities.

  • To exercise the powers conferred on them under the RTI Act, 2005.
  • To receive and investigate complaints from any citizen (as per Section 18 of the RTI Act, 2005).
  • To receive and make decisions on the second appeal filed by any citizen (according to Section 19 of the RTI Act, 2005).
  • To fulfill the duty of “Monitoring and Reporting” as stated in Section 25 of the RTI Act, 2005.
  • The CIC comprises a Chief Information Commissioner and up to ten Information Commissioners.
  • Appointment:
  • The President of India appoints members of the CIC on the recommendation of a committee, which includes the Prime Minister as Chairperson, the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, and a Union Cabinet Minister nominated by the Prime Minister.


  • Members of the CIC and State Information Commissions (SIC) should be individuals of eminence in public life with substantial knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media, or administration and governance.
  • They should not be Members of Parliament or Members of the Legislature of any State or Union Territory. Additionally, they should not hold any other office of profit, be associated with any political party, or engage in any business or profession.
  • The Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioners hold office for a term of three years from the date they assume their positions.

-Source: Indian Express

June 2024