Call Us Now

+91 9606900005 / 04

For Enquiry

Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization


Recently, assembling in the Brazilian city of Belem, the members of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization sought to chart a common course on how to combat climate change.


GS II: International Relations

Dimensions of the Article:

  1. Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization
  2. The Amazon Rainforest

Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization

Formation and Purpose:

  • The Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO) is an intergovernmental entity established by eight Amazonian countries through the signing of the Amazon Cooperation Treaty (ACT).
  • The Amazon Cooperation Treaty was crafted and formally endorsed on July 3, 1978.

Evolution and Membership:

  • In 1995, recognizing the importance of unified action, the eight nations elevated their collaboration by creating the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO).
  • The member countries include Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, and Venezuela.

Foundational Objectives:

  • ACTO was established with the primary goal of advancing the preservation of the Amazon basin and guiding Amazonian development through international cooperation.
  • It stands as a unique socio-environmental bloc within the Latin American region.

Multi-Faceted Approach:

  • ACTO operates on multiple fronts within the framework of the ACT’s implementation.
  • It engages in political-diplomatic, strategic, and technical activities, fostering synergy among governments.

Linguistic Diversity:

  • ACTO accommodates linguistic diversity by adopting four official languages: Dutch, English, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Collaborative Framework:

  • The Directorate of the Permanent Secretariat takes the lead, coordinating and executing activities while closely collaborating with Member Countries.
  • Consultations and close cooperation ensure effective project planning and execution.

The Amazon Rainforest:

Geographical Scope:

  • The Amazon Rainforest is an expansive tropical rainforest that extends across the drainage basin of the Amazon River and its interconnected tributaries in the northern region of South America.

Natural Boundaries:

The rainforest’s expanse is delineated by distinct geographic features:

  • To the north lies the Guiana Highlands.
  • The Andes Mountains stand to the west.
  • The Brazilian central plateau marks its southern border.
  • The Atlantic Ocean borders the rainforest to the east.

-Source: Indian Express

May 2024